Statistical Institute for Asia and the Pacific


The Statistical Institute for Asia and the Pacific (formerly the Asian Statistical Institute) was established in May 1970 as a centre for statistical training in Asia and the Pacific by 20 Governments [Afghanistan, Australia, Ceylon, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Republic of Vietnam, Singapore, Thailand, United kingdom (Hong Kong) and Western Samoa], the United Nations and United Nations Development Programme by the initiative of Government of Japan. In April 1995, the Institute was accorded the status of a subsidiary body of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) with the establishment of a Governing Council (earlier Board) which reviews the operations and endorses the annual and long-term programmes of work of the Institute.

Asia and the Pacific