Waste Management and Sustainability

Date

As part of its aim in supporting the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Youth 4 Climate Action Project (Y4CAP) resolved to host a webinar on “waste management and sustainability," highlighting the benefits of waste management and how can waste be more sustainable, why it matters, sustainable waste management practices, and coordination and planning for sustainable waste management.

Solid waste management (SWM) is one of the major environmental issues facing cities in many developing countries, including Nepal. Urban population growth and economic development lead to increasing generation of municipal solid waste (MSW). The use of products that generate hazardous waste is another concern. Unmanaged disposal of medical wastes from hospitals and clinics also contribute to pollution and public health hazards. Therefore, SWM has become a major concern.

Learning objectives:

By the end of the session, participants will be able to understand:

  • the importance of waste management in terms of sustainability;
  • the effects of poor waste management planning and practices;
  • individuals' roles in contributing to waste management;
  • policies and plans for sustainable waste management; and
  • engage with young leaders.

Date: Thursday, 1st July, 2021

Time: 12:05- 1:20 pm (Nepal Time), 11:50 - 1:05 pm (India Time), 06:20- 07:35 pm (Fiji Time), 12:20- 01:35 pm (Bangladesh Time)

Duration: 1 hour 15 minutes
 
Target: Policymakers, researchers, practitioners, children and youth, and youth organizations representative from all regions.

Webinar Recording

Organization
Y4CAP
Image
Webinar Banner
Thematic Area